Harry Potter Fan Zone

HPFZ's JK Rowling Fan Site Award

Book 7: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows

PosterAuthor: Joanne Kathleen Rowling

US Edition: Mary GrandPré
UK Children’s: Jason Cockcroft

US: Scholastic Inc. (Arthur Levine Imprint)
UK: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc
Worldwide Publishers

The dedication of this book is split seven ways:
to Neil, to Jessica, to David, to Kenzie, to Di, to Anne,
and to you, if you have stuck with Harry until the very end.

Chapters: Thirty-six (36), plus an epilogue

Word Count: Approximately 198,227
For the US Edition

Hardcover Releases:
US Edition: July 21, 2007
UK Children’s: July 21, 2007

Description: Harry has been burdened with a dark, dangerous and seemingly impossible task: that of locating and destroying Voldemort’s remaining Horcruxes. Never has Harry felt so alone, or faced a future so full of shadows. But Harry must somehow find within himself the strength to complete the task he has been given. He must leave the warmth, safety and companionship of The Burrow and follow without fear or hesitation the inexorable path laid out for him… In this final, seventh instalment of the Harry Potter series, J.K. Rowling unveils in spectacular fashion the answers to the many questions that have been so eagerly awaited. The spellbinding, richly woven narrative, which plunges, twists and turns at a breathtaking pace, confirms the author as a mistress of storytelling, whose books will be read, reread and read again.

Cover and chapter artwork


Chapter titles

  • 1. The Dark Lord Ascending
  • 2. In Memoriam
  • 3. The Dursleys Departing
  • 4. The Seven Potters
  • 5. Fallen Warrior
  • 6. The Ghoul in Pyjamas
  • 7. The Will of Albus Dumbledore
  • 8. The Wedding
  • 9. A Place to Hide
  • 10. Kreacher’s Tale
  • 11. The Bribe
  • 12. Magic is Might
  • 13. The Muggle-Born Registration Commission
  • 14. The Thief
  • 15. The Goblin’s Revenge
  • 16. Godric’s Hollow
  • 17. Bathilda’s Secret
  • 18. The Life and Lies of Albus Dumbledore
  • 19. The Silver Doe
  • 20. Xenophilius Lovegood
  • 21. The Tale of the Three Brothers
  • 22. The Deathly Hallows
  • 23. Malfoy Manor
  • 24. The Wandmaker
  • 25. Shell Cottage
  • 26. Gringotts
  • 27. The Final Hiding Place
  • 28. The Missing Mirror
  • 29. The Lost Diadem
  • 30. The Sacking of Severus Snape
  • 31. The Battle of Hogwarts
  • 32. The Elder Wand
  • 33. The Prince’s Tale
  • 34. The Forest Again
  • 35. King’s Cross
  • 36. The Flaw in the Plan
  • Ninteen Years Later