House editions

Bloomsbury’s house editions commemorate the 20th anniversary publication of the first Harry Potter book and contain unique house-related illustrations by artist Levi Pinfold. To date, four of the seven house edition ‘Potter’ novels have been published.

Hogwarts 20th anniversary house editions
Bloomsbury’s house editions commemorate the 20th anniversary publication of each Harry Potter book.

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (2017)

Philosopher’s Stone was first published on 26 June 1997.

All four Philosopher’s Stone house editions feature a unique house crest on the front cover and are adorned with illustrations of animals and objects that represent the qualities favoured by each house. The red Gryffindor edition includes the house lion, a unicorn for ‘purity and courage’ and antlers for ‘strength and agility’. The blue Ravenclaw edition includes the house eagle, a book and scroll for knowledge and academic achievement, an owl for wisdom and a spearhead for ‘sharpness of wit’. The yellow Hufflepuff edition features the house badger, as well as beech leaves to represent tolerance and a lamb to represent gentleness. Finally, the green Slytherin edition depicts the house snake and a crescent to symbolise ‘glory and honour’.

Hogwarts founders (Levi Pinfold)
The house editions include new line illustrations of the four Hogwarts founders.

Inside, the house editions include facts about each house, a map of the castle and grounds, profiles of noteworthy characters and new line illustrations. The Philosopher’s Stone house editions include drawings of Hogwarts founders Godric Gryffindor, Salazar Slytherin, Helga Hufflepuff and Rowena Ravenclaw, as well as portraits of heads of house Severus Snape (Slytherin), Pomona Sprout (Hufflepuff), Minerva McGonagall (Gryffindor) and Filius Flitwick (Ravenclaw).

Hogwarts heads of house (Levi Pinfold)
Levi Pinfold drew beautiful line illustrations of all four Hogwarts heads of house.

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (2018)

Chamber of Secrets was first published on 2 July 1998.

The Chamber of Secrets house editions feature four unique serpentine crests on the front covers, adorned with house-related iconography inspired by Harry’s second year at Hogwarts. The red Gryffindor edition features the sun (‘glory’), the Sorting Hat, Fawkes, the Sword of Gryffindor, flames (‘zealousness’) and a dragon (‘bravery’). The blue Ravenclaw edition shows an owl (‘wisdom’), an eagle (‘ingenuity and wit’), a scroll and quill (‘learning’), Moaning Myrtle and Lockhart’s Pixies. The yellow Hufflepuff edition features a bee (‘industriousness’), ants (‘hard work’), a spider, Dobby, Mandrakes, a dove (‘constancy’) and the chrysanthemum (‘abundance and cheerfulness’). The green Slytherin edition features a crown (‘superiority’), a Basilisk, the memory of Tom Riddle, a rooster (‘pride’), Tom Riddle’s diary and bats (‘an awareness of the power of darkness’).

Common rooms (Levi Pinfold)
Levi Pinfold imagined all four house common rooms for the Chamber of Secrets house editions.

The Chamber of Secrets house editions include drawings of each house common room: Gryffindor, Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff and Slytherin, as well as line drawings of house-elves, including Dobby and Kreacher.

Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban (2019)

Prisoner of Azkaban was first published on 8 July 1999.

The Prisoner of Azkaban house edition covers depict Sirius Black in his black-dog animagus form and are surrounded by intricate illustrations unique to each house. The red Gryffindor house edition is bordered by James Potter in animagus form, Harry conjuring a Patronus and the lone figure of Hagrid. The blue blue Ravenclaw edition is adorned with illustrations of Professor Trelawney, Azkaban Prison and Buckbeak the Hippogriff. The yellow and green Hufflepuff and Slytherin editions feature the Knight Bus, Hufflepuff Quidditch Captain Cedric Diggory, Dementors; and executioner MacNair, Peter Pettigrew as an animagus rat and a Wolfsbane Potion, respectively.

The Prisoner of Azkaban house editions include full-page line drawings showing different characters casting the Patronus Charm: Hermione Granger (Gryffindor), Severus Snape (Slytherin), Cho Chang (Ravenclaw) and Nymphadora Tonks (Hufflepuff).

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire (2020)

Goblet of Fire was first published on 8 July 2000.

The Goblet of Fire house edition covers depict an ‘element’ specific to each house: fire, earth, air and water. The red Gryffindor house edition (fire) is bordered by Sirius Black’s head in the fireplace, a Hungarian Horntail, Harry on his Firebolt and Mad-Eye Moody’s magical eye. The blue Ravenclaw edition (air) and yellow yellow Hufflepuff edition (earth) include the Beauxbatons Carriage, wandmaker Ollivander, Fleur Delacour; and the Triwizard Maze, Cedric Diggory and a Niffler, respectfully. The green Slytherin edition (water) shows Tom Riddle’s headstone, Viktor Krum, the Hogwarts Giant Squid and the Durmstrang Ship.

Inside, the Goblet of Fire house editions feature portraits of Rubeus Hagrid (Gryffindor), Garrick Ollivander (Ravenclaw), Cedric Diggory (Hufflepuff) and Lord Voldemort (Slytherin), alongside a feature on the paintings of Hogwarts.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2020)

Order of the Phoenix was first published on 21 June 2003 and the house editions will be released on 11 June 2020.

The Order of the Phoenix house edition jackets feature the flaming Phoenix songbird and a magical location of relevance to each house. The red Gryffindor edition depicts The Burrow and includes illustrations of Grawp, Mr Weasley’s flying Ford Anglia, Ginny Weasley practicing Quidditch and the mysterious Ministry Veil. The blue Ravenclaw edition depicts the Hall of Prophecy with illustrations of Thestrals, Luna Lovegood, a copy of The Quibbler and the glass prophecy orb. The yellow Hufflepuff edition depicts the Ministry of Magic and illustrations of a Gold Galleon, Tonks, Courtroom 10 and the visitor entrance telephone box. The green Slytherin edition depicts Grimmauld Place and illustrations of Kreacher, house-elf heads, Sirius Black’s mother and other Grimmauld Place iconography.

Inside, the Order of the Phoenix house editions feature portraits of Sirius Black (Gryffindor), Dolores Umbridge (Slytherin), Sybill Trelawney (Ravenclaw) and Justin Finch-Fletchley (Hufflepuff).